About Lymm

Lymm is a large village and civil parish in Warrington, Cheshire

Lymm, pronounced Lim, ‘a place of running water’ with Celtic origins. True to its word, there is an abundance of water, namely Lymm Dam, the Bridgewater Canal and the Manchester Ship Canal. There are many beautiful scenic walks, rich with a variety of wildlife, a dog walker’s paradise, Bay Malton Angling Club at Lymm Dam and cycling routes along the Pennine Trail. 

Lymm Dam is a central point to Lymm village and is an area of great beauty and tranquillity. It was constructed in 1824 to make way for a new road, which is now the A56. The surrounding woodland and meadows around the dam are rich with a variety of wildlife, trees and wildflowers. 

Lymm village centre is a designated conservation area. With a subtle blend of old and new, the historic iconic Lymm Cross, recorded in the National Heritage list for England as a designated Grade 1 listed building and dates from the early to mid-17th century. Standing on ancient red sandstone steps, the current cross was mounted to celebrate Queen Victoria’s Diamond Jubilee in 1897.  This focal point in the village is surrounded by the café culture with a good selection of independent shops.

Always a good diary of events throughout the year, Easter Duck Race, May Queen, Lymm Festival, Dickensian Day and Carols at the Cross, all celebrating the community spirit of village life. There’s something to enjoy with all the family throughout the different seasons in this picturesque village. A more recent addition is Cheshire's Mix 56 Radio, originally Lymm Radio, broadcasting to Warrington, Knutsford and Altrincham.

On the practical side and logistically, Lymm is well placed for the motorway network, Manchester International Airport and Cities of both Manchester and Liverpool.